Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Site Talk >
Feb 15, 2007 08:07 PM

Rocky Mountain States

Chowhound Team: You have split up a natural area of America with common food themes, the Rocky Mountain States. This consists of Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, and Utah (& the Dakotas?). Colorado is a Rocky Mountain state also, but I can understand the position on its current board. People and cuisine move among and are related in the four states I listed. It makes no sense to now list Idaho and Montana with Hawaii and Alaska. Let me assure you, Wyoming is not in the southwest and neither are central and northern Utah where almost everyone lives; these are Mountain States. Listen, the southwest has vaqueros and the mountain states have buckaroos and you don’t want to mix up the two. The southwest is cooking with hot peppers, etc. while the mountain states eat beef, game (elk, moose, buffalo, etc.) and trout. These are generalizations, but you get the picture. The current split is confusing and suppresses postings.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. We know, and our plan for board reworking does address a lot of what you've noted, but we have some technical difficulties with actually implementing the new plan. Our current boards grew organically, added piecemeal as new boards were required, and it's resulted in some odd breakdowns for those states that are simply 'Elsewhere in America'.

    -- Jacquilynne, Community Manager for Chowhound