HOME > Chowhound > Home Cooking >
Brewing beer, curing meat, or making cheese? Tell us about it
TELL US

Gluten-free (and delicious!) meal ideas?

Tartinet Feb 6, 2007 09:07 AM

A friend of mine doesn't eat gluten, and I'd like to invite her to a dinner party. Since I'd also like to invite some Omnivorous Chowhounds, her usual diet of plain steamed fish, rice, and carrots won't do it this time. Does anyone have some ideas? I've googled around a bit, but all the gluten-free sites I find are not exactly focused on deliciousness or helpfulness... they mostly want to sell you recipes for fake-sounding baked goods. Bleagh.

I do know that my friend avoids vinegar and quinoa and, I think, oats. So she's pretty strict about the grey areas. But I certainly don't know the whole story.

  1. n
    newly diagnosed Jun 15, 2008 07:50 PM

    nobody has written on here in awhile but I am a newly diagnosed person with Celiac Disease. Very new in fact just last week. . Its been okay but I am having difficultly with cooking dinner...I have never been a great cook and now I have to cook all the time. I was just wondering if anyone could give me some easy recipes to make. It would be very helpful...thank you

    4 Replies
    1. re: newly diagnosed
      j
      jsaimd Jun 16, 2008 08:46 AM

      What do you like to eat? Tell us what you like and there are a million recipes to try. Any other dietary restrictions?

      My 3 main points of advice (and this is me, as a person that was totally food obsessed even before my dx - others may differ). The basic idea is one step at a time!

      1. Stick to what is naturally gluten free for a bit - the gluten free baked good have a different flavor or texture and at first, it is off-putting. You get used to it, but when you are first adjusting I think it is easier. When first dxed I couldn't stand gluten-free pizza - I was already picky about my pizza, and I couldn't stand the texture of gluten-free pizza crust. Now, there are VERY few recipes I can tolerate and even enjoy. It just took some time.
      2. When you are ready to try baked goods, start with mixes, until you adjust. I know bake from scratch. Most Celiacs I know still use mixes. But it makes the adjustment easier.
      3. Get yourself gluten-free soy sauce, a gluten free breakfast option (hardest for most people), and really good corn tortillas (get from a Mexican grocery if possible).

      1. re: newly diagnosed
        l
        lgss Jun 16, 2008 03:50 PM

        We use lots of brown rice, potatoes, rice pasta, quinoa, black beans, garbanzos, adzukis, veggies, nuts, seeds, and fruit. We recently found rice flour tortillas at TJs. I'm gf and we're also vegan. We make bread, cookies, cakes, pie crust, etc from scratch. There's a post on one of these boards about available products. I'll look for it and post a link here.

        1. re: lgss
          l
          lgss Jun 16, 2008 04:05 PM

          http://www.chowhound.com/topics/498344
          is the link I was referring to. Easy meals we make include:
          Israeli Salad: (tahini, lemon juice, tomatoes, cuke, carrot, red bell) w/corn chips
          Black beans, brown rice, and veggie of choice,
          Masamba: potatoes, steamed greens (we use kale or collards) topped with peanut butter mixed with salsa
          Rice pasta pasta sauce w/garbanzos, broccoli and/or zucchini
          Brown rice, lentils, spinach & hot sauce
          Hummus or pasta sauce over thinly sliced zucchini and red bell peppers

          We use our pressure cooker and VitaMix all the time. We have a number of gf cookbooks. Let me know if you wants titles.

        2. re: newly diagnosed
          karmalaw Jun 16, 2008 04:11 PM

          to put it in other words, you can have any of these FRESH foods (not processed):

          fish
          shellfish
          poultry
          meat
          vegetables
          fruits
          beans

          and you can have:

          corn
          millet
          rice
          quinoa

          milk
          sour cream
          cream
          butter

          olive oil
          as well as most any other oils
          nuts

          fresh herbs
          salt
          pepper
          hot peppers
          most spices

          and a number of other grains -- just not wheat and those related to it (semolina, spelt, durum, rye, barley, etc).

          So, if you avoid processed foods (until you get savvy at knowing what is and isn't made with gluten ingredients -- like malt), and you buy "gluten-free" versions of those you wish to replace (like pasta) you can make most anything.

          So -- what would you like to learn to make?

        3. c
          cimui Mar 17, 2008 08:47 PM

          How about:

          Meal 1

          shrimp or scallop ceviche made with lime and jalepeno
          grilled steak seasoned simply with sea salt and pepper, sliced and served with grilled corn tortillas
          grilled onions, tomatoes, squash
          grilled corn on the cob with butter and lime
          Flourless chocolate cake with chili for dessert

          Meal 2

          oven roasted Brussel sprouts (salt, olive oil and perhaps garlic cloves)
          oven roasted asparagus spears served with shaved parmesan and topped with a poached egg
          simply grilled non-white fish, rubbed with garlic, served with lemon and butter
          polenta squares or white wine risotto
          lemon mascarpone mousse

          Meal 3

          cornmeal crusted fried green tomatoes served with homemade aioli
          cornflake-crusted oven "fried" chicken
          cornmeal spoonspread or cornmeal + cheese soufflee or mixture of mashed potato, cauliflower, turnip
          green beans (or haricots verts) stirfried with thinly sliced garlic clove and olive oil
          berries with whipped cream
          watermelon granita

          1. l
            lilingenue Mar 17, 2008 07:48 PM

            How about a steak and mashed beans?? Was watching Nigella last night and this looked SO good (plus it'd make your omnivorous chowhounds happy too)!

            http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recip...

            1. l
              lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:01 PM

              Oats are debated (I avoid them) but quinoa has no gluten. The things to avoid are wheat, oats, barley, rye, spelt, triticale, and anything with them as ingredients.

              1. f
                fwilhelm Jul 24, 2007 05:43 AM

                My wife has Celiac and I do the cooking. Risotto is an all-time favorite. And, important, she can use Kikkoman Soy Sauce. The fermentation process seems to kill the Gluten in the wheat used. Also, we like Polenta and dishes based on grated potato such as Swiss Rösti.

                2 Replies
                1. re: fwilhelm
                  j
                  jsaimd Jul 24, 2007 07:29 AM

                  If you are cooking for a Celiac, please don't use wheat based soy sauce. While fwilhelm's wife might be able to tolerate, many cannot, and it is clearly on the "avoid" list. I use wheat-free tamari as a substitute.

                  1. re: jsaimd
                    l
                    lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:15 PM

                    San-J makes a gluten-free tamari. It has a gold label. We buy it at WFM.

                2. Tartinet Feb 8, 2007 07:36 AM

                  I was offline for a while after I posted this question originally, and now I come back to an amazing resource! Thank you so much, everyone! I especially appreciate all the specific tips about what to avoid that might have "hidden gluten" in it. I'm wowed. Go Chowhounds!

                  My friend is going to be so happy! I think I'll print this thread for her, so she can use it for menu ideas for herself.

                  1. p
                    Panini Guy Feb 7, 2007 06:26 PM

                    Good thread. I've got a catering gig this Sunday that's featuring one celiac among the guests. As our regular catering menu features a ton of bruschetta, crostini and pasta options, I had a lot of concerns. I've been told I can go ahead with the bruschetta/crostini (we're not baking the bread here - slim chance of airborne particles).

                    I'm also doing a Sicilian-style eggplant dish (no breading), a Caesar salad using polenta croutons instead of bread, a hummus with a gluten-free pita bread, and an antipasti of roasted vegetables, meats and cheeses. The menu was run by the person who's the celiac who said it's OK.

                    However, they did mention to not use any pan sprays and to use only oil (which I would've anyway).

                    1 Reply
                    1. re: Panini Guy
                      e
                      edzenith Feb 20, 2008 02:39 PM

                      I know it's been over a year since you posted, Panini Guy, but where did you get gluten-free pitas? Did you make them from scratch, or buy them somewhere pre-made? This is the one baked good I haven't been able to find gluten-free (and I'm not much of a baker). Thanks!

                    2. k
                      Kishari Feb 7, 2007 06:09 PM

                      As the Food Allergy Queen (I'm allergic to gluten, dairy, soy, rice and citrus...among other things) I always recommend two things when entertaining those of us with food issues. (1) keep it simple and make solid, good-tasting entrees without fancy sauces which could have hidden contaminants...there's gluten in baking powder, soy sauce and tamari for example; and (2) try to eat normal foods that happen to be contaminant-free so that you're not eating fake things with weird tastes and textures that are bound to disappoint everyone!

                      A simple roast beef au jus (my fave entertaining dish is Zuni Cafe's standing pork roast which can be done ahead...it's a star), served with a side of grilled vegetables with a little sea salt and olive or truffle oil to finish, and maybe some polenta, risotto or pan-roasted baby potatoes is my reco. For dessert, either poached pears in wine, or a flourless chocolate or nut cake. Fancy enough for company, simple and few ingredients. But because they are few, they should be top-notch quality.

                      www.foodallergyqueen.blogspot.com

                      2 Replies
                      1. re: Kishari
                        l
                        lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:12 PM

                        The baking powder we use doesn't contain gluten (what brand(s) are you referring to? We buy gf tamari.

                        1. re: lgss
                          l
                          lgss Mar 17, 2008 07:00 PM

                          We make sure to buy the aluminum-free baking powder.

                      2. doctor_mama Feb 7, 2007 07:12 AM

                        Many "normal" entrees are either gluten-free already or can be easily adapted. Find a chicken or meat dish you like. Roast chicken, beef stew, steak, chicken baked with various sauces and seasonings, grilled or broiled fish... you get the idea. Sides are easy, too, as others have mentioned: Rice, potatoes any number of ways, or polenta will all work. If your recipe calls for a bit of flour before browning the meat, just brown without the flour.

                        Roast chicken with roasted potatoes and garlicky greens will fit the bill and be enjoyed by everyone.

                        Here are two easy and delicious GF desserts.

                        http://allrecipes.com/recipe/flourless-chocolate-cake-ii/detail.aspx
                        http://www.leitesculinaria.com/recipe...

                        Good luck!

                        1 Reply
                        1. re: doctor_mama
                          l
                          lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:13 PM

                          The sauces and seasonings often contain gluten.

                        2. a
                          Addisonchef Feb 7, 2007 04:32 AM

                          Back to the question at hand....

                          If your guest eats meat and eggs, there are lots of things to make. What about a nice quiche (no crust) or frittata with a veggie side or fruit salad? Or a bean salad? Roasted chicken or pork with rice? A filled twice-baked potato or stuffed pepper? Grilled steak salad with a creamy dressing? Roasted salmon (or another kind of fish) with some grilled veggies? As long as you're not limited with meat as well, there are limitless options! :-))

                          BTW, I've had to make dinner for someone who was intolerant of gluten AND lactose! Oh yes, and a vegan AND gluten-free person! (Not at the same time!) Talk about a challenge!

                          One thing I wanted to point out and I don't believe anyone mentioned this, is soy sauce and even tamari frequently have gluten added to them. I didn't realize this until it was pointed out to me by a "gluten-free" friend.

                          Good luck! :-)

                          6 Replies
                          1. re: Addisonchef
                            f
                            flourless Feb 7, 2007 07:35 AM

                            Heh, I cook every day gluten free and completely dairy free. I'll tell you - dairy free is *much* harder than gluten free. For the OP, we do a lot of indian, thai, vietnamese, mexican, tex-mex, etc.

                            I'd go with something fairly simple, because I like simple food. Something like a rich pot roast with soft polenta and broiled asparagus - needs a nice crispy salad to go with though. Maybe a european nut-based torte for dessert. Or an indian broiled chicken with zucchini or turkish green beans on rice pilaf and Coco Pista Pasand or a carrot halwa for dessert.

                            The options are pretty limitless - what would you cook if your gluten-free friend wasn't coming to this dinner?

                            1. re: flourless
                              a
                              amoncada Feb 7, 2007 09:36 AM

                              I love anything Asian but cut it out all together since my Celiac Diagnosis. Do you eat Thai and Veitnamese out or only the home cooked variety? I live in Chicago with a ton of Asian options. What Thai or Vietnamese dishes can I order out? Don't they use soy sauce or other gluten laced sauces? Cross contamination is a huge concern as well...everything is cooked in the same woks. Please Advise,

                              1. re: amoncada
                                j
                                jsaimd Feb 7, 2007 09:41 AM

                                I do Thai, but Vietnamese has been harder. But a place that communicates well can work with you. Your best bet is to find a dining card in the language. Thai for instance doesn't usually use wheat based soy sauce, but some restaurants now use it and soem waiters don't know what is in their food and the chef's don't know the English terms for their dishes. But since this isn't a home cooking issue, you might try posting to your local board. There are bound to be some Celiac patients on there that know of some places.

                                1. re: jsaimd
                                  a
                                  amoncada Feb 7, 2007 10:04 AM

                                  Thanks for your advice.

                                  Yes, I agree with you about finding a restaurant that is willing to take some time to go over the ingredients. I tried to communicate my Celiac issues with a couple of really busy Thai restaurants and they just didn't want to deal with me. I should give it another shot. I'm still worried about cross contamination though.

                                2. re: amoncada
                                  f
                                  flourless Feb 7, 2007 04:23 PM

                                  I only eat the home cooked variety. Cross contamination is my big concern, as is poor understanding of the issues. My Sister's MIL for example thinks that rice noodles are rice - so they're gluten free. Except she buys ones that have wheat flour in them. It's just hard to explain issues like that when they don't speak the language. I've reacted to some brands (squid brand, IIRC) of fish sauce even though there isn't anything strange on the label, etc.

                                  I have eaten at PF Chang's a few times and it was "ok". It's sort of sweet and americanized for me.

                                  1. re: amoncada
                                    l
                                    lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:09 PM

                                    If you like Korean, Amitabul is great. We try to eat there any time we're in town, which isn't all that often. I don't recall if all their dishes are gf but Dave will answer any questions.

                              2. m
                                meat_eater Feb 7, 2007 03:29 AM

                                Does she like tofu? I like gluten, but a lot of people really don't care to much for it. My wife hardly eats meat but she hates gluten. Tofu is tasty and vege friendly. Pasta with no meat sauces is also nice.

                                Sim
                                Blog: http://foodlava.com/blog/

                                2 Replies
                                1. re: meat_eater
                                  l
                                  lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:07 PM

                                  Most pasta is made from wheat (also variously listed on labels as durum, semolina, etc. There are gluten-free pastas available made from corn or rice (or 100% buckwheat (despite the name it's not related to wheat and contains no gluten), or quinoa. WFM and TJs carry them. We use TJs brown rice pasta (it comes in various shapes). GF pasta disintegrates if left in the water or cooked too long.

                                  1. re: meat_eater
                                    karmalaw Mar 15, 2008 03:34 PM

                                    I'm celiac also. If you tried to feed me tofu at a dinner party I'd probably pretty much hate you. Aside from the liquid white-out taste, soy is not good for those who have auto-immune disease (of which celiac is one).

                                  2. k
                                    Kagey Feb 7, 2007 03:11 AM

                                    Don't forget Nigella Lawson's clementine cake. Gluten-free and a delicious way to use those clementines. It also works with the same weight of regular oranges. It's been discussed on Chowhound a few times, so you can search.

                                    1 Reply
                                    1. re: Kagey
                                      j
                                      jsaimd Feb 7, 2007 07:05 AM

                                      works with Meyer lemons too - very good. But I do recommend making it a couple of days ahead. It was definitely better with age.

                                    2. p
                                      piccola Feb 6, 2007 06:29 PM

                                      Check the Gluten-Free Goddess blog - she makes tasty food.

                                      1. j
                                        jsaimd Feb 6, 2007 03:10 PM

                                        I use vinegar as well. The distillation process takes out the gluten, but not for malt vinegar which is different process.

                                        1. a
                                          amoncada Feb 6, 2007 12:59 PM

                                          I must admit that I'm surprised to see several Celiacs on this posting avoiding vinegar...why? I have Celiac Disease and cook constantly with balsamic or white distilled vinegar which are both gluten-free. The only vinegar that I know of that Celiac's should avoid is Malt Vinegar. Can anyone elaborate as to why they are avoiding Vinegar?
                                          I just did some research on a couple of Celiac websites and all of the vinegars listed were gluten-free...Heinz, Safeway, & Trader Joe's Vinegars were all gluten-free.

                                          3 Replies
                                          1. re: amoncada
                                            PamelaD Feb 6, 2007 03:02 PM

                                            I, too, have celiac and don't worry about white distilled vinegar. I think years ago there were concerns of grain contamination in the distillation process, but these have since been despelled. The only vinegar to avoid, as you say, is Malt vinegar.

                                            Many newly diagnosed Celiacs are so careful and believe lots of old dogma (white vinegar is OK, msg is OK, etc...).
                                            My advice, though, is for the OP to follow her friend's rules, so she feels comfortable eating what she makes.

                                            My major concern when eating at a friends house to cross-contamination. For example, does the cook scoop into her sugar with the same measuring cup she uses for flour? Yikes.
                                            If there is bread being sliced up for other diners, you have to be very careful about the cutting board and where the crumbs end up.

                                            1. re: amoncada
                                              f
                                              flourless Feb 7, 2007 07:23 AM

                                              I suspect it's because the OP mentioned that her friend avoided vinegar. It isn't terribly uncommon. Personally I don't avoid distilled white vinegar. However, I did for awhile when I was newly diagnosed since it was controversial then and the explanations I had heard for why it was safe were bad science. I eventually decided that other risks I took were probably significantly more likely to be a problem.

                                              In addition to malt vinegar however, rice vinegar can also be a problem. I'm cautious with rice vinegar because it isn't distilled and it used to be somewhat common to use wheat to help start the first fermentation. That practice is not currently common in the US, and every rice vinegar I've checked recently is fine - but I continue to check. Some commercial versions of rice vinegar list wheat on the ingredients list, and due to the difficulty in getting production information on them I just avoid those - although it's likely that the wheat is used to make a product that is distilled and then added to rice syrup or rice wine.

                                              1. re: amoncada
                                                l
                                                lgss Mar 15, 2008 03:03 PM

                                                Apple cider vinegar is fine. Grain vinegar is another issue. Most processed products containing vinegar don't specify or identify the source.

                                              2. vicki_vale Feb 6, 2007 12:19 PM

                                                If your friend might like a savory tart or pot pie, there is a good idea for a rice pie crust in one of Nigella Lawson's cookbooks. It's made with cooked long-grain rice, one beaten egg, and a little parmesean I think. Pressed into a pan and pre-baked 10 minutes to set.

                                                I was planning on filling mine with a tuna, mint, and pea quiche-type filling.

                                                1 Reply
                                                1. re: vicki_vale
                                                  vicki_vale Feb 7, 2007 11:22 AM

                                                  Correction: The rice pie crust was in a Donna Hay book.

                                                2. a
                                                  amoncada Feb 6, 2007 11:41 AM

                                                  I have Celiac Disease and most often consume Indian, Mexican (and most other latin foods; Latin foods include lots of corn and not wheat based dishes...corn tortillas, corn arepas, corn empanadas, etc), Greek, & Middle Eastern food. Simple grilled foods and vegetables are always great too...be sure to use grape/wine, balsamic wine vinegar, or rice wine vinegars (naturally gluten-free) and not white grain vinegar or malt vinegar as these are not gluten-free.

                                                  You can make a lot of Italian dishes as well with Gluten-free brown rice pasta (best one is at Whole foods, Jewel foods, and Dominick's Finer Foods; I don't recall the brand but the bags are clear and purple and quite good...nearly identical to semolina/wheat pasta). Whenever flour is required, buy a small bag of all purpose Bob's Red Mill or Pamela's gluten-free flours. Pure cornmeal flour is great as well. Corn starch is great for thickening.

                                                  Make sure to read the label when cooking with storebought chicken, vegetable, or beef stock as many contain wheat or malt barley.

                                                  In general, when a store bought/highly processed food item contains more than 5-10 items, it can't possibly be good for you. It's pretty horrible that ton's of store bought processed foods contain 20, 30, even 40 different ingredients including several gluten laced ingredients.

                                                  As far as gluten-free cocktails are concerned; most apple or pear ciders, wine, tequila, rum, and potato vodka (Luksasowa is excellent and ranked higher than most of the finest grain based vodka's, plus it's triple distilled so it doesn't cause nasty hangovers) are fine.

                                                  Custard based deserts like Spanish Flan or Italian Zabaglione (really easy), or rice pudding are quite tasty and are naturally gluten-free.

                                                  1. j
                                                    jwagnerdsm Feb 6, 2007 10:41 AM

                                                    My little girl's best friend is Celiac and so when she comes for sleepovers, we are paralyzed with fear that we are going to expose her to gluten. There's a new frozen pizza here in middle Iowa with a crust that is a curious combination of hard and soft cheese. It's available at Hy-Vee Foodstores and is a hot-seller. After cooking it on a high temperature, you let is rest on the counter for five minutes and the crust sits up. I know that has nothing to do with your question, but I think you might find it interesting.

                                                    1. j
                                                      jsaimd Feb 6, 2007 10:35 AM

                                                      I have Celiac and I know there have been many posts recently. Do a quick search for more ideas.

                                                      Here are some ideas: Braised meat with parsnip puree and roasted potatoes or sweet potatoes, maybe some salad or soup too if you are hungry. Mexican food is great - Mexican bisteca for instance, with corn tortillas, or mexican potatoes. Thai rice noodles with coconut milk sauce - can add meat. Indian is great too - dosa is a fun bread that is GF.

                                                      For dessert: Almond cake is my current favorite (made with ground almonds and egg), custards and ice cream, you can make a cheescake crust out of gluten-free corn flakes (one's without malt), pavlova, rice puddings, souffle, roasted fruit - there are so many choices. If you have a recipe that uses just a LITTLE BIT of flour (like a tablesspoon or two), it is easily adapted too.

                                                      For starch, there is polenta, millet, potatoes, sweet potatoes, rice of all types, corn.

                                                      All meat and fish is fine, as long as it isn't dredged in flour (either skip or I dredge in rice flour/corn starch mix or soy flour) or coated.

                                                      Vegetables are fine.

                                                      Things to watch out for that you may not think about soy sauce (there are wheat-free version, but they are stronger), premade stocks (many have barley malt in them), beer, and in some cases spice mixes that loosen it with wheat flour (I haven't found this to be a big problem, but I don't use a lot of mixes).

                                                      Nam pla (fish sauce) is fine most of the time - read the label.

                                                      It depends on how sensitive to gluten they are, but I have gotten sick eating sweets from others houses. My best guess is the ubiquitous double dipping when baking (e.g. use the same measuring cup for flour as for sugar) eventually contaminates the sugar enough for me to get sick. That being said, being conscious of cross-contamination

                                                      1. a
                                                        ali patts Feb 6, 2007 10:10 AM

                                                        To be gluten free just avoid grains. Any meat and fish are fine, along with any fruit or veg or rice. You're basically fine if you cook from scratch and don't serve bread. I have found that gluten free breads are awful (including for use as bread-crumbs) so I've given up on them. But gluten free flour makes just as good a chocolate fondants as regular flour (at least flavour-wise, they don't rise quite as much but who cares, it's a chocolate fondant). Dinner party staples - braised lamb shanks - use cornflour or arrowroot to thicken, otherwise everything you'd do normally. I'm struggling to think of a fish dish that I cook that contains gluten... ok, don't breadcrumb it or tempura it but seasoned cornflour works fine.

                                                        If you can't tell I had a problem with a friend coming to dinner then realised it wasn't that much of a problem, just don't give them bread or beer. My friend Paul has coeliac disease and does have a problem with 'cheap' oats, in the same way that my friend Angie has a problem with cheap chocolate (she has a nut allergy) - basically we think it's about control in the factory/farm. But, you can't beat Dean - no wheat, no gluten, no yeast, no fish (incl shellfish) and Mary - no gluten, no dairy, no poultry, no fish. They are great fun to cook for - thank god they will never be at my house at the same time!

                                                        Oh, I can never remember with the whole no gluten thing if soy sauce is ok or not. But I'm pretty sure nam pla is fine.

                                                        5 Replies
                                                        1. re: ali patts
                                                          h
                                                          hsr Feb 6, 2007 10:23 AM

                                                          There are a few brewers starting to play around with gluten-free beers that are pretty good. I gave my dad his first beer in years and he was thrilled. It was brewed with sorghum instead of gluten containing grains. I didn't have high expectations for the taste but was hoping since he hadn't had a beer in so long, he would be happy with whatever he could get. Everyone ended up having a few with him though and agreed they were pretty tasty.

                                                          1. re: ali patts
                                                            r
                                                            rockycat Feb 7, 2007 06:57 AM

                                                            Soy sauce has wheat. Tamari is wheat-free.

                                                            1. re: rockycat
                                                              j
                                                              jsaimd Feb 7, 2007 07:04 AM

                                                              My grocery store carries wheat free tamari and some with wheat in it. I though t it was weird, but always check asian sauces for wheat.

                                                              1. re: rockycat
                                                                karmalaw Mar 15, 2008 03:35 PM

                                                                walmart's soy sauce does not have wheat and many vietnamese soy sauces do not have wheat.

                                                              2. re: ali patts
                                                                s
                                                                Stuffed Monkey Nov 4, 2009 09:06 AM

                                                                My favorite dessert for gluten-free dairy-free friends:

                                                                www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views...

                                                                You can do things with meringes and somewhere I saw a method of whipping the cream from coconut milk which would be great with tropical fruits.

                                                                Also many Passover cake receipes either have no flour or so little that you can sub another flour without any effect. Many are nut based like Nigella's clemintine cake.

                                                              3. h
                                                                hsr Feb 6, 2007 09:59 AM

                                                                My dad is celiac and just came to visit, so I just spent a week cooking gluten-free. Some of the meals included: osso buco over polenta (don't dredge the veal in flour - thicken at the end with a little cornstarch), I made a few thai dishes with rice noodles (there is a thai soy sauce with a dragonfly on the bottle that is gluten-free - many soy sauces contain wheat), and various roasted meats served with vegetables and potatoes. Use fresh herbs and avoid any processed food labeled with "natural flavoring". If you need vinegar as an acid, any wine or rice vinegar is safe, it is distilled white vinegar that is made from wheat. Desserts can be any custardy-type dessert (flan, creme brulee, panna cotta, rice pudding - just watch using extracts, the alcohol can trigger gluten sensitivites - use a vanilla bean or some lemon zest for flavoring), seasonal fruits and cheeses, a cheesecake with a crust made with ground gluten-free cookies (Whole Foods has a good selection) or a flourless chocolate cake. There are plenty of delicious foods you could make that your other guest wouldn't even realize they were dietary restrictions in place. Some websites that have good gluten-free recipes are http://www.celiacchicks.com/ http://gluten-freerecipes.blogspot.com/ http://glutenfree-journey.blogspot.com/
                                                                Good luck!

                                                                1. pescatarian Feb 6, 2007 09:45 AM

                                                                  Why does she avoid quinoa and oats? Both are gluten-free, not a grey area.

                                                                  In any event, I think a paella is a nice option.

                                                                  Would she eat something with sweet potatoes? Perhaps a nice roasted vegetable (fennel, sweet potatoes, beets, whole garlic cloves, rosemary or thyme) stew topped with feta cheese after it comes out of the oven.

                                                                  Grilled salmon with roasted red peppers or with a mango or pineapple salsa.

                                                                  You can do any fish au papiette (sp?) wrapped in parchment with lemon, some aromatics, herbs and baked for 20 min. Serve on brown rice.

                                                                  Another option is an eggplant lasagna (eggplant in place of the noodles). Don't bread the eggplant. Just lightly grill and then layer with tomatoes and goat cheese and spinach, garlic, etc.

                                                                  11 Replies
                                                                  1. re: pescatarian
                                                                    Tartinet Feb 6, 2007 10:24 AM

                                                                    Re: quinoa and oats: Dude, I have no idea. My position is just to accept what she tells me about her food choices as though it was her religion-mandated diet, since that's how she feels about it. It makes it much easier to be understanding and accomodating.

                                                                    Re: everything else: Your recommendations sound fantastic--thank you so much.

                                                                    1. re: Tartinet
                                                                      pescatarian Feb 6, 2007 10:26 AM

                                                                      Gotcha, was just curious why they were out, but makes sense just to go along.

                                                                      You're welcome.
                                                                      Dudette :)

                                                                      1. re: pescatarian
                                                                        h
                                                                        Hamiesam Nov 3, 2009 05:44 PM

                                                                        oats aren't entirely free of gluten as there are no strict regulations in terms when it comes to sorting them. They are quite often cross contaminated with the likes of wheat and barley.

                                                                        1. re: Hamiesam
                                                                          Vetter Nov 3, 2009 08:57 PM

                                                                          But there are certified GF oats now, from several producers, and they're delish! Bob's Red Mill has them for a decent price. They can get really spendy.

                                                                    2. re: pescatarian
                                                                      h
                                                                      hsr Feb 6, 2007 10:30 AM

                                                                      There is a risk of cross-contamination with certain grains that are grown near wheat fields or processed in plants that process wheat. Or, she may have sensitivities or allergies to those grains as well as gluten.

                                                                      1. re: pescatarian
                                                                        f
                                                                        flourless Feb 6, 2007 11:31 AM

                                                                        Oats and vinegar are pretty common for gluten free folks to avoid. Something like a third of the people who react to gluten have the same reaction to the proteins in oats, which is why the current medical recommendations on oats are to eat them in limited quantity and judge tolerance for yourself.

                                                                        Quinoa tastes *odd* to me, and I won't eat it, but it isn't really a gluten issue. Some people do find that it accelerates digestive transit though and that can be disturbing.

                                                                        1. re: flourless
                                                                          pescatarian Feb 6, 2007 11:41 AM

                                                                          That's too bad. I try to keep wheat to a minimum, but I love my oats and quinoa (and vinegar!). I do not have celiac disease and I think if I do have a sensitivity to gluten it is very minimal. I think for most people (not for those who have celiac disease), eating a small amount of anything and rotating is a good way to go.

                                                                        2. re: pescatarian
                                                                          l
                                                                          lissar Jul 24, 2007 10:29 AM

                                                                          Oats are on the 'no' list for gluten sensitivity. A good friend of mine just found out she's gluten-sensitive, and the list of things to avoid is pretty scary. Oats, vinegar (processed with barley), tomato paste, some spices, almost anything processed...

                                                                          1. re: lissar
                                                                            AmyH Jul 24, 2007 10:34 AM

                                                                            It depends on the person. The proteins that activate celiac disease in wheat are very closely related to proteins in barley and rye. According to scientific evidence (see Gut. 50:332, 2002 and Gut 53:649, 2004) oats are thought to activate celiac only rarely because the proteins are more distantly related to the proteins in wheat, barley and rye. The analogous proteins in rice, maize, sorghum, millet, Job's tears, and tef are even more distantly related and don't activate celiac.

                                                                            1. re: lissar
                                                                              j
                                                                              jsaimd Jul 24, 2007 10:41 AM

                                                                              She should use the list from one of the national Celiac organizations. The Celiac center here at Stanford now states, with the new labeling laws, that vinegars (except malt vinegar), tomato paste absent unusual additives, spices unless wheat is specified are all OK. Oats are OK for most celiacs, but not all, and only those that are free from cross-contamination (e.g. McCanns works well for most, and there is another company). Also, until the disease is under control, the diet is more strict (e.g. no oats). Of course everyone has their own comfort level and sensitivities. So, just check with the person when cooking for them.

                                                                            2. re: pescatarian
                                                                              m
                                                                              mudster Feb 20, 2008 07:10 PM

                                                                              People who can't eat gluten must also avoid oats, rye, and barley. Gluten is contained in the protein of all these grains.

                                                                              (I'm adjusting to living with a gluten-free person myself. There's a definite learning curve.)

                                                                            3. AmyH Feb 6, 2007 09:38 AM

                                                                              How about a nice paella? I can't think of anything in it that would have gluten, with the possible exception of the chorizo. If you choose to add it, read the ingredients on the label to make sure that gluten wasn't added.

                                                                              Show Hidden Posts