HOME > Chowhound > Home Cooking >

Rainbow cookies

Nalega Dec 24, 2006 02:10 AM

So I'm baking the 3 layers of cake for them now, to be pressed and ready for chocolate coating tomorrow. To kill time while baking, I decided to read about them on chowhound, only to find that they're also called seven layer cookies. WHY???

I count 6 layers - 3 of cake, 2 of jam, and one of chocolate. (green cake, jam, yellow cake, jam, pink cake, chcolate). Did I grow up missing an important layer? I feel like I'm missing something. What's the 7th layer?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. v
    Val55 RE: Nalega Dec 24, 2006 03:58 AM

    I think you are confusing posts. Rainbow cookies are also called venetians and I think I've seen them called neapolitans here, but I think that is wrong. 7 layer bars a different type of bar cookie, made of butter, graham crackers, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, coconut, nuts and sweetened condensed milk.

    1. j
      jdub1371 RE: Nalega Dec 24, 2006 04:03 AM

      Sometimes the rainbow cookies have two layers of chocolate - on top and on bottom-- seven layers. I think I saw that in Gourmet last year or the year before (it's probably at Epicurious).

      I've been making venetians every year since 1975 and I've only ever put chocolate on the top.

      1. c
        Cinnamon RE: Nalega Dec 24, 2006 05:50 AM

        Oh- I just read some post and recipe that had a picture - most of the traditional rainbow Italian cookies are just the three cake layers etc. - but there was one recipe that had all sorts of little cake layers, like an unweildy number - three's just fine. I think the seven was just an over the top interpretation of the cookie.

        1. r
          rockycat RE: Nalega Dec 25, 2006 01:59 AM

          If you're going to be using an Epicurious recipe, try the one called Rainbow Cookies, not the one called 7-Layer cookies. You've got three layers of cake, two of jam, and two of chocolate. That equals seven.

          Show Hidden Posts