Is it Possible to Make Vegan Latkes?
We've recently made some new vegan friends, and are looking forward to having them attend our holiday party this weekend. I will have plenty of vegan-friendly items already, but I'm planning to make latkes, and I'd love to be able to share them with our new friends. Is there a way to make latkes without the egg as a binding agent? I've checked out a few vegan websites to see what they say about egg substitutes, but I'm still feeling kinda adrift here.
Any wise folks out there who could lend some guidance?
I second btnfood's matzoh recommendation. It's also really important that you purge as much moisture from those potatoes and onions as possible before cooking. From experience with other fried veg patties, I'd think you may also want to try a bit of rice flour as a binder. You'll certainly get a nice texture, and it will help to take up any moisture left in your veg.
Yes, it is not so uncommon to see a latke recipe with no eggs.
It's very important to drain the liquid thoroughly from the shredded potatoes and onions, and to reserve it. When the solid potato starch settles to the bottom of the liquid, scrape this starch into your latke batter. You may also add some flour and/or matzoh meal to help bind the mixture.
Keep the latkes a manageable size so they won't break apart when turning. And, for the crispiest latkes, keep turning to a minimum.