HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >


Kosher Kimchi

Does Kosher kimchi exist?

Thanks Cheryl

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. It's traditionally made with shrimp paste, treif as anything.
    But you could make your own without too much trouble and just leave that out, I suppose. I've certainly never seen any *certified* kosher (not too many kosher Koreans?), though "kosher style" might exist.

    2 Replies
    1. re: Whippet

      Actually, there are thousands of versions of kimchi and it is easy to find a vegan recipe for this fermented, healthful, delicious food. Maanchi, the Korean chef (maangchi.com) says you can puree some anchovy to substitute for the fish sauce. ok, you can't eat it with fleishig, or just leave the fish sauce out as this Korean Martial Artist does:


      Here is another vegan kimchi recipe:


      1. re: dsarah3

        I make a variation from Maanchi's recipe for kimchi weekly and tend to make extra for my friends who are both kosher and vegan. I substitute a vegan oyster sauce (i usually make it from mushrooms) and mix in a bit of seaweed and let it soak to get a nice fishy flavor. It's pretty awesome and from the looks of it, it qualifies as kosher. I'm thinking of making it by the gallon soon.

    2. I think Ruth's Kitchen in Brookline has kimchi

      1. I've had kimchi, I think, at Hangawi Vegetarian restaurant. True, Hangawi isn't kosher, but it is a vegetarian place, which means it must be possible to make kimchi without shrimp products. Maybe anchovies, as the poster above suggests.

        2 Replies
        1. re: Clarissa

          I've never had it and never been to Hangawi but if they are vegetarian how can they make it from anchovies which are fish?

          1. re: PapaT

            Sorry I worded that in such a confusing way. I'm assuming the kimchi (if that's where I had it, I think it is) at Hangawi is vegetarian, since the place is completely vegetarian. I was just saying that the poster above is probably right about the possibility of substituting anchovies for shrimp paste. I think fish sauce is made from anchovies, and it's used in many Asian recipes.

          1. Refrigerator Kosher Kim Chi

            Prep time:10 minutes
            Ready to serve:1 week

            1 large napa cabbage
            1/3 cup Kosher salt (large crystal type)
            2 bunches green onions sliced into ½ to 1-inch long
            4 cloves garlic thinly sliced
            1 inch ginger root, finely minced or thinly julienned
            1 cup Korean red chili (see notes)
            2 tablespoons fish sauce (see notes)


            Cut the bottom inch from the napa, to free the leaves. Rinse thoroughly and pat or let get mostly dry. Stacking the leaves, cut them into 1 to 1 ½'' thick pieces. Toss the cabbage with the salt and leave in a nonreactive glass or steel bowl or steel pot overnight to start the fermentation.

            Slice up the garlic and green onions and slice or mince the ginger .
            Rinse the salt from the cabbage thoroughly. Doing this in a parve colander is easiest.
            Mix in the green onions, garlic, ginger, chili flakes, and fish sauce with the cabbage in the bowl or pot used to start the fermentation.

            Divide the mixture between sealable containers. Wide mouth canning jars work well, but using empty spaghetti sauce jar do too.
            Leave an inch of head space at the top and screw on the jar lids and allow the kim chi to ferment at room temperature for two to three days. After three days, place the containers in the fridge and allow them to ferment for at least the rest of the week.


            1.You can buy Korean dried chili at Am-Ko. It is milder than many ground chilies sold in the U.S. If you want to use American substitutes, you can use ground New Mexico chili, or a combination of sweet paprika and cayenne to suit your taste. You can also use the type of red pepper used on Italian food ,but don't overdo it and make it to hot. I usually use one tsp of the red pepper and a few shakes of hot sauce like Texas Pete.

            2. Kosher fish sauce can be hard to find. A great sub is to take a small tin of anchovies,drain the oil, and mix well with a couple oz of water.The easiest way is a small hand held mixer or small food processor. Black and Decker makes one that sells for around ten dollars at any Walmart. You'll also find a million other uses for it.The leftover sauce can be frozen until the next time you need some.

            3. Kim Chi is a traditional side in Korea that is eaten with almost every meal. It commonly is made not only with the standard fish sauce so popular in Oriental fare,but raw seafood like shrimp or octopus is used as well. The salt used keeps any bacteria from growing so there are no worries about using fish sauce or anchovies in it. If you want it so it can used with meat dishes or fermented fish makes you a bit to nervous,leave it out. I make a quart of this every week so when I run out,the next batch is ready.

            1 Reply
            1. re: Hezakiah

              your fish sauce may be an ok sub-real nam pla is fermented for several months with salt. then it turns liquidy. I do not believe water is added.