HOME > Chowhound > Site Talk >

Discussion

Questions about "new" flags

  • 1
  • Share

Can two posters share a profile?

My husband and I are planning a trip to Europe and we have been reading the International boards.

I put him on a plane this morning for a business trip overseas. I forgot his password and signed up for my own account. All the topics are new because under this handle I am new. I can not remember which topics we read already.

Under the old software the browser changed the color of the link so we knew what we already read.

Is it possible to share the part that recognizes if a post has been read? I was hoping to continue taking notes today. Will I just have to wait he calls tonight?

Another question we had was if there is an option to remove all the "new" flags from a board?

In hot posts,"mark all as read" removes the topic from the board, but the "new" flag remains. We have been having problems with hot posts. It clears the list before we have read all "new" hot posts. This happens occasionally. We then go to the board we were reading through hot posts and read the new posts there.

We would still like an option to actually remove the "read" flag from all topics for a board. We would like that separate from hot posts due to the problems there.

Can two people sign on at the same time using the same handle?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. "We have been having problems with hot posts. It clears the list before we have read all "new" hot posts. This happens occasionally. We then go to the board we were reading through hot posts and read the new posts there."

    Exactly the problem I was having a couple of days ago. Posted about it on the Problem board, but never got a reply. I was beginning to think it was only me.

    It seems to be happening less frequently now, but it did happen again late last night. I was wondering if perhaps I just happened to be on Hot Posts while the engineering team was doing some finagling and that was why the list was clearing. Sorry to hear it's happening to you also, but that it is gives me some confidence that it's not my machine or configuration.

    By the way, another workaround is to right-click on the Hot Post post and open it in a new window. Unfortunately, that doesn't, when you return, show the post as having been read. But at least it guarantees the whole thing won't be deleted before you get to the end of it.