HOME > Chowhound > Cheese >

Discussion

Vegetarian Cheeses

  • s
  • 3

Many cheeses rely on rennets made from the minced stomachs of calves for coagulation, and hence are not vegetarian by most definitions. Here is a list of cheeses made with vegetarian rennets. (It is likely that I have mispelled some names; I humbly request corrections from those better informed.)

St. George
Pleasant Ridge Reserve
Winchester Aged Gouda
Vella's Mezzo Secco Jack
Vella's Dry Jack
Redwood Hill Farms Fresh Chèvre
Redwood Hill Farms Feta
Vermont Goat Fontina
Hyku (by Goat's Leap)
Sumi (by Goat's Leap)
Cowgirl Crème Fraîche
Spanish Azeitao
Quinta des Vilnos
Llangoffan Caerphilly
Putney Tomme
Great Hill Blue
Bellwether Farms Ricotta
Los Baños Teleme
Cypress Grove Bermuda Triangle
Redwood Hill Camellia
Redwood Hill Crottin
Humboldt Fog
Old Chartham Camembert
Old Chartham Mutton Button
Abbaye de Belloc Sheepsmilk Cheese
La Peral
Manchego
Ossau Iraty
Sally Jackson Sheepsmilk Cheese

In addition, all cheeses made in England are now vegetarian, all Tillamook brand cheeses except the Aged White Cheddar are vegetarian and all Kraft Cracker Barrel cheeses that list "enzymes" as an ingredient are vegetarian. (Note that neither the sharp nor the extra sharp Cracker Barrel Cheddar is vegetarian.)

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. Thanks for the great list. Allow me to add my two cents.

    Not all English cheeses are vegetarian; my husband just gave me his most recent Neal's Yard invoice (from last week) and the cheeses with veg. rennet are marked.

    The NON-veg. ones include:
    Keen's Cheddar
    Montgomery Cheddar
    Isle of Mull Cheddar
    Lincolnshire Poacher
    Durrus
    Mrs. Kirkham's Lancashire

    The ones with veg. rennet are:

    Colston Basset Stilton
    Shropshire Blue
    Appleby Cheddar
    Appleby Double Gloucester
    Gorwydd Caerphilly (mmmm!)
    Llangloffan
    Cashel Blue (mmmmm!)
    Ardrahan
    Gubbeen
    Single Gloucester
    Spenwood
    Berkswell
    Beenleigh Blue
    Ticklemore
    Harbourne Blue
    Crozier Blue
    Hawes Wensleydale

    Also, Spanish Manchego is made with animal rennet. Is there another manchego that you're referring to that is vegetarian?

    2 Replies
    1. re: LisaPizza

      Here is my corrected and amplified list.

      Vegetarian Cheeses

      Abbaye de Belloc Sheepsmilk Cheese
      Appleby Cheddar
      Appleby Double Gloucester
      Ardrahan
      Beenleigh Blue
      Bellwether Farms Ricotta
      Berkswell
      Carmody
      Cashel Blue
      Colston Basset Stilton
      Cowgirl Creamery Crème Fraîche
      Cowgirl Creamery Mt. Tam
      Cowgirl Creamery Pierce Point
      Cowgirl Creamery Red Hawk
      Crozier Blue
      Cypress Grove Bermuda Triangle
      Cypress Grove Double Gloucester
      Ekte Gjetost
      Gorwydd Caerphilly
      Grafton Cheddar (reserve, gold, Four Star and smoked)
      Great Hill Blue
      Gubbeen
      Halloumi
      Harbourne Blue
      Hawes Wensleydale
      Humboldt Fog
      Hyku (by Goat's Leap)
      La Peral
      Le Petit Creme
      Leerdammer
      Llangoffan Caerphilly
      Los Baños Teleme
      Matos St. George
      Myzithra
      Old Chartham Camembert
      Old Chartham Mutton Button
      Ossau Iraty
      Pleasant Ridge Reserve
      Point Reyes Original Blue
      Putney Tomme
      Quinta des Vilnos
      Redwood Hill Camellia
      Redwood Hill Crottin
      Redwood Hill Farms Feta
      Redwood Hill Farms Fresh Chèvre
      Sage Derby
      Sally Jackson Sheepsmilk Cheese
      Sap Sago
      Sea Stars (all varieties)
      Shropshire Blue
      Single Gloucester
      Smoked Scamorza
      Spanish Azeitao
      Spenwood
      St Davids
      Sumi (by Goat's Leap)
      Tête de Moine
      Ticklemore
      V.B.C. Goat Fontina
      Vella Dry Jack
      Vella Mezzo Secco Jack
      Vermont Butter and Cheese Chevrier
      Vermont Goat Fontina
      Wensleydale
      Winchester Aged Gouda
      Woolwich Dairy Goat's Milk Brie

      In addition, many fine cheeses made in England are now vegetarian, all Tillamook brand cheeses except the Aged White Cheddar are vegetarian and all Kraft Cracker Barrel cheeses that list "enzymes" as an ingredient are vegetarian. (Note that neither the sharp nor the extra sharp Cracker Barrel Cheddar is vegetarian.)

      Non-Vegetarian U.K. Cheeses

      Durrus (Irish)
      Isle of Mull Cheddar (Scottish)
      Keen's Cheddar
      Lincolnshire Poacher
      Montgomery Cheddar
      Mrs. Kirkham's Lancashire

      1. re: Samo

        And sorry to ruin the story but Grwydd Caerphilly ONCE WAS VEGETARIAN but sadly isn't anymore - they switched to "traditional" - i.e. calf gut or similar - rennet. If Neal's Yartd say it's vegetarian they are working on old info