- Buttercup Dec 1, 2004 09:09 AM
I have a recipe for salmon the sauce for which calls for hoisin sauce among other things. I need to cook gluten-free tomorrow night but all the commercial hoisin sauces I've been able to find have wheat. Is there a way to approximate the flavor with ingredients I am likely to have at home?
I am more interested in reproducing the taste than necessarily creating a perfectly authentic sauce--but I don't know what hoisin sauce tastes like.