Kosher Krispy Kreme in Las Vegas
Dear Mr. B,
Thank you for your email. We appreciate the opportunity to assist you.
Often we receive questions from consumers about our products. Our
and doughnuts are ingredient Kosher; however, not all of our retail
locations are certified Kosher. You may find it helpful to know that
only animal by-products used in our doughnuts are eggs (whites and
and dairy products (including milk, butter, yogurt, whey, nonfat milk
nonfat whey). All enzymes, cellulose gum, lecithin, agar, rennet,
bean gum, mono and diglycerides used to produce our doughnut mixes are
of plant origin.
For your convenience, we have included a list of cities that have
certified stores: New York City, NY; Alexandria, VA; Henrietta, NY;
Meadow, NY; Charleston, SC; Owings Mills, MD; Mountain View, CA;
VA; Tonawanda, NY; and Mississauga, ON., Las Vegas Nevada.
We hope that you'll find this information helpful and appreciate the
opportunity to provide assistance.
Once again, thank you for your email and continued support! We look
to serving you again in the future.
Krispy Kreme Customer Experience
While this list maybe helpful it is NOT up to date. I know of at least three more certified KK locations, one in NJ and 2 in Philadelphia:) OP I'd contact KK to see for yourself if the Las Vegas ones are to your standasrds and if they are do try a warm glazed donut.
While I do prefer Dunkin Donuts in general nothing in this world is like a warm glazsed KK donut!
But I don't totally trust this article. I have found no confirmation that there are kosher KK's in LV or, if so, what supervision they are under. There are no listings on Shamash or anything about them on the webistes for the shuls in LV. I don't believe that this article is lying, just that they might misunderstand what kosher means or have a dubious source. I am looking for someone who has been to a kosher KK in LV or knows someone who has.
Krispy Kreme's ingredients are kosher, but not all locations are under supervision to insure kashrut.
Also, KK used to use lard, so if an old location that used to use lard switched to the new batter the end product is still not kosher due to the non-kosher equipment unless it was kashered.
Well, they stopped using lard over 20 years ago. You would think there would be some statute of limitations here. And at some point all the old equipment would have been replaced. I realize that in theory there are never ending cross contamination issues, but at some point you have to ask yourself "what would G-d want?" I think there is good Biblical precedent for 40 years representing a clean slate, the equivalent of being buried in the yard for a year, if you would. So we only have about 12-13 years left I guess.
As far as I have ever heard, there's no halacha behind anything being buried in the yard for a year; it's a long-standing myth about kashering treif silverware, but it has no basis in Jewish law. As for your other conjecturing . . . I leave it to those who keep kosher to decide for themselves about your "statute of limitations" theory. I myself would not assume any change of equipment, and once the treif is in, there are specific ways it can be dealt with in the halachic sense, but the simple passage of time isn't one, as far as I know.