HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Celiac in Jewish children/ non gebrokts

e
Elaine Nov 29, 2004 07:46 PM

Hello... Is there a large population of Jewish children with Celiac? That means NO wheat or Gluten EVER !! Our 5 year old grand daughter was just diagnosed...Its November 2004 and quite a way to Pesach... Where can I buy non-gebrokts products to make her knadlach and challah? Thank you Elaine1836@aol.com

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. c
    cookie RE: Elaine Nov 30, 2004 09:07 AM

    i forwarded your request to a friend of mine who's sibling is celiac. give a few days for the e-mail to travel and hopefully a response to be posted. lot's of luck. even though pessach isn't around, they do start baking way before. i know they start baking the shmuerer matzos chanuka time.

    1. b
      baruch RE: Elaine Nov 30, 2004 09:08 AM

      What Non-Gebrokts products allow you to make challah and knaidlach?

      I am not sure a brand like Liebers is available outside of the passover time frame. We usually stock up on certain things during this time.

      My experience with celiac and challah has not been good. By its nature Challah has high gluten flour. Trying to make it gluten free is not easy and my wife who is a successful baker has not been able to produce one even using all her tricks.

      Cookies, pie crust, cupcakes, and all sorts of other baked goods come out fine using alternative flours. But challah remains elusive.

      1. d
        D Teichman RE: Elaine Jan 10, 2005 06:30 PM

        Speak to your Rabbi. I am sure that you can get a heiter to give her Gebrokts and probably also Kitniyos.
        (Kitniyos are always allowed for someone sick who needs them. That includes children who can't eat other foods, because of allergies etc.)

        1 Reply
        1. re: D Teichman
          d
          D Teichman RE: D Teichman Jan 17, 2005 11:47 AM

          Sorry, I misunderstood the need for non-gebrokts. Obviously you cannot give her gebrokts because of the gluten. Kitniyos might just be the way to go.

        2. r
          Rocky-cat RE: Elaine Jan 15, 2005 01:24 PM

          My cousin's child has celiac. Yes, it is somewhat common among Jews. There are quite a few Israeli-made gluten-free products. Pesach? Good luck. Although Ashkenazi, our cousins celebrate a "Sephardic" Pesach (i.e. kitniyot). The little girl also has cystic fibrosis so there are numerous other health issues.

          Depending on the age and severity of your granddaughter's celiac she may be allowed oats so that might help with the matzah. As far as I'm concerned. the key to remember is, "And you shall live by them," NOT "And you shall make yourself sick, unhealthy, and die by them."

          1. c
            Chari RE: Elaine Feb 21, 2005 06:38 PM

            I know that there is a bakery in Brooklyn called Joseph's that makes GF Challah. Good Luck

            1. o
              OnaTutors RE: Elaine Oct 18, 2006 07:07 AM

              GLUTEN-FREE OAT MATZOS
              http://www.glutenfreeoatmatzos.com/in...

              PASSOVER RECIPES
              http://www.glutenfree.com/passover_re...

              "MORE" PASSOVER RECIPES
              http://www.recipelink.com/mf/0/60789

              NATIONAL FOUNDATION FOR CELIAC AWARENESS
              http://www.celiaccentral.org/Links/Fo...

              Hope this help someone. . .

              Be well and enjoy the holidays!

              1. jeterfan RE: Elaine Oct 19, 2006 10:31 PM

                There are other non Kitniyot options for Passover. Many rabbis allow Quinoa (even the CRC) for Ashkenazim during Passover. In addition, many rabbis also permit wild rice for Ashkenazim for Passover.

                Show Hidden Posts