Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Sep 5, 2004 07:48 PM

Kosher honey

  • e

Does honey need to have kosher certification in order to be acceptable in a kosher home? If so, any reccomendations?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Honey does not require a hashgacha unless it is flavored. If it's in it's original state, no prob. Last year I tried orange blossom honey and I had to stop myself from eating spoonfuls of it, it is mild, not clawingly sweet like yucky clover honey which should be against halacha to serve at any Rosh Hashanah table. For unusual flavored ones with hashgacha's try health food stores. Good luck and have a sweet New Year.

    4 Replies
    1. re: amy t.

      I'm confused by your post. Which type would be disallowed over RH dinner?

      1. re: DeisCane

        Here's the deal--

        Honey that's flavored requires kosher supervision.
        Honey that is unflavored (i.e. Clover, Orange Blossom, etc) does not require a hecksher (kosher certification seal) at all.

        Flavored honey's without kosher supervision are not allowed at a Rosh Hash table or any other kind of table throughout the year because they are assumed to be non-kosher because flavorings are VERY OFTEN made from a variety of freaky non-kosher ingredients.

        Flavorings are a big catagory of particular concern in the kashrus world. I remember that from my OU days.But you can buy from the guy at the Union Square Farmer's Market who makes plain unflavored honey on his roof without a hashgacha -- generally, people who observe the highest standards of kashrut will purchase that because it is unflavored.

        However, Some have a custom to be extra machmir (stringent) during the holidays so they'll make a point to purchase even an unflavored honey with a hecksher on it. allI can say is, buy Orange Blossom-type honey this year, it's unreal!

        1. re: amy t.

          Hmm, interesting. I don't think I've ever bought anything but unflavored. Being a (now-transplanted) Floridian makes OB the only way to go.

          1. re: DeisCane

            I don't think that's quite right. Honey always contains bee parts, but they are acceptable because they "dissolve" into the oney when cooked. Ergo, honey has to be cooked to be kosher, and any cooked product needs a hechsher.

    2. Just a recommendation...

      Honey is good for alergies (airborn alergies). The alergies are very local, so I always try to buy the honey made closest to me geographically. Also, I personally like to support companies that bother to put a hechsher on their products, so I try to buy one of those products.