HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Krispy Kreme doughnuts--is it true they use lard?

x
xyz Mar 7, 2003 01:31 PM

Hello.

I love Krispy Kreme doughnuts but was recently told that they use lard. Is that true?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. z
    Zev Sero RE: xyz Mar 7, 2003 01:44 PM

    No. According to the Krispy Kreme web site, "All of our doughnuts are ingredient Kosher. Our mix plants in Winston-Salem, North Carolina and Effingham Illinois, where the mix is made have been certified Kosher. In addition, some of our stores, but not all, have been certified Kosher. To get a complete listing of our stores that have been Kosher certified please call us at 1800 4KRISPY."

    Link: http://www.krispykreme.com/nutri2.html

    1. b
      Bill F. RE: xyz Aug 12, 2003 05:03 PM

      Krispy Kreme donuts sold at local Albertson's markets in Dallas are certified kosher dairy by the Vaad HaKashrus of Dallas (d/b/a Dallas Kosher).

      Show Hidden Posts